Alliance Star Ship Vorpal Blade

BlueCloud2k2

Has anyone done any HERO conversions of John Ringo's Into the Looking Glass series? I would be really interested to see what people came up with for the Dreen, Adar, and Hexosehr... especially after the last book (Claws that Catch).

And yes, Mr. Ringo does in fact use that Acronym for the Blade's designation.

• 2 weeks later...

Re: Alliance Star Ship Vorpal Blade

I'm rather new to Hero, so I haven't.

But since the Dreen are basically reskinned Starcraft Zerg, maybe you should check for SC conversions?

And I believe there's an example for how to stat a Nuclear Bomb in one of core books, described as lacking in secondary effects due to simplification, which is probably exactly what you want to use for a Rhino Tank that's been interrupted mid-shot...

Remember, it's not just John Ringo that's writing in that book, but also the much cool and fun to talk to, Travis "Doc" Taylor......I've actually been working on a write ups for the series (As well as a few other things, so much to write so little free time) So I could have something to drag along to Gencon to run wild with Star Hero wise in open gaming....(More of an example.....HERO for Old Sci Fi, and New Sci Fi.....).....

Now as for the Dreen being reskinned Zerg......I have to disagree. The "Biotech Orientated Sci Fi bad guy" has been around about as long as the genre itself.......You could say for example, the Zerg, are nothing more then re-skinned Tyranids from 40K (Who made their first mention in the Rouge Trader game in 87 (aka Warhammer 40k Ver. 1), which puts the Tyranids around 11 years older then the Zerg......The Scope of the Dreen however is greater then Either of the other two races, as the Dreen will subjugate as well in a rather insidious fashion.

Very fun series to read.....Oh if you want to drop Doc a line..... http://www.doctravis.com/