“What hurts me makes me stronger powers”!

Martin2

I am new to 6th edition and running heroes in general. I am GMing a game and have been effectively been creating the characters for the players with more or less input from each one.

One player gave me the outline of “What hurts me makes me stronger”. A character that can absorb damage thrown at him and then use it back at whoever he wants. So I built a character around Absorption with high resistant PD and ED and also damage resistant:

Absorption Physical / Energy 20 x 4 storage and resistant protection (½ to strength, ¼ to stun ¼ to body) – 45 points each (The theory being that he will possibly get to 20D6 damage when at full power based on 20 start strength).

Damage resistance 50% - 30 points

etc

Effectively 200 points characteristics 160 powers and 40 skills / advantages). But in the combat he was not getting anywhere near serious damage absorption so not knocking people over fast enough. His power trick is a move through attack to do more damage due to acceleration as well as absorbing the damage into his strength. Last night he was playing VIPER skittles taking two agents in a combined move through and bouncing them off walls with the knock back ;).

The other characters have powers in multi powers will now gain lots of new powers at 10 points from 1 experience and lag behind with his 1:1 advancement.

Can anyone suggest powers that would simulate absorption effect in a multi power that could be combined with defensive powers but be more cost effective for character points and experience advancement?

Thanks for any help.

Re: “What hurts me makes me stronger powers”!

I am not certain I really understand that buildup. Could you please make a more readable writeout?

Also, could you give an example how you calculate the effect of an attack (e.g. when do you aply what). Absorption/Adjustment Powers have a lot of special rules, especially when used with Power Frameworks (Multipower and VPP).