Joint Locks, Cat's Claws, and a world of hurt for YOU buddy....

Got a question for the forum that was inspired by a guy who was showing me a shapechanging PC.

When I play with my cats it’s not uncommon for them to ‘grab’ my hand with their front claws and then go to town biting and raking with their rear claws.

In champs terms this is superficially easy enough. Grab then a maneuver that is ‘must follow’ grab. However in real life I’m easily strong enough to ‘break’ the grab but I almost never do … because if I did then those front claws would tear a ton of skin on the way out.

That got me thinking. When I studied Hapkido I did a lot of similar maneuvers. I studied how to put an opponent in a joint lock where the joint lock itself does little or no damage … but if my opponent were to try to break out it would hurt them a *lot*.

How would one model this using HERO rules? I.E. model a grab that isn’t based on STR but instead does damage if the target tries to break it.

While I don’t have the Beastiery or the 5th ed UMA, I do have the 4th ed UMA, Ninja Hero, and tons of other older stuff … but I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a way to do this discussed.

Anyone have suggestions?

What about something like this.

Your cat makes a multiple power attack, with front claws and rear claws. For the front claw attack your cat uses a cover maneuver, that way there is no immediate damage, and you can avoid it if you can some how distract your cat and slip your hand out. The rear claws is just an attack.

So folks like cover ... my question then becomes how do you build this into a combat maneuver? Secondly can you continue to attack after a normal cover?

For instance the cat above might have "Grab 1 limb, Cover with 1 pip HKA (autofire 2), you fall ... then the cat starts attacking with another HKA.