1st time HERO System GM advice

caid

Hoi all,

I've decided to try to emulate the feel from some of my console rpgs (mainly the Final Fantasy series) but as this is my first attempt at GMing HERO System, I wanted to ask some advice from the more experienced.

Are there any pitfalls in not being very strict in building everything the players come across with powers/advantages/limitations? Take potions for example. In Final Fantasy, there are these healing potions. You buy them in shops. If you're not KO'ed, they heal so-and-so many HPs. What would be the drawback of just saying that they heal 5 BODY, 25 STUN and leave it at that?

I've seen some discussions on how to model the materia based magic from FF7. These were mainly from sometime in 2003. Has anybody attempted to use these ideas since then? Any results worth mentioning? Did it turn out well?

I've never tried hexagonal-based battle maps and I'm not sure I will like it (the Cubic-Hex discussion alone makes me hesitate :winkgrin: ). Would it alter things largely to use a square-based grid instead?

I currently don't own Fantasy Hero or Fantasy Grimoire. Let's say I've already come up with my setting and my magic system, what reasons would you give for me to buy it/them?

Re: 1st time HERO System GM advice

I currently don't own Fantasy Hero or Fantasy Grimoire. Let's say I've already come up with my setting and my magic system, what reasons would you give for me to buy it/them?

There's a lot of good advice in Fantasy Hero about fine tuning the balance of magic systems and solving problems that can come up. It has advice for making weapons and armor too. All the rules are in the basic book, but it gives you the knowledge in how to apply them that an experienced GM would have.

I don't think there should be any problem with having potions heal a predictable amount. Just use the standard effect rules, 1 Die of Similified Healing w/ Standard Effect = 1 BODY and 3 Stun.