Appropriate Level of Challenge

Scupper

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Hero from the GM side of the screen and I haven't been able to find much information in the books about what is an appropriate point level for challenging PCs.

If there's a particular book I should look at for this, please let me know.

In brief, I've got 3 PCs in the 250-point range and I'm trying to determine a good point value for "henchman", "sub-boss", and "boss"-type enemies.

Any input would be appreciated.

Re: Appropriate Level of Challenge

This is a difficult question to answer due to many factors. There are some "normals" examples in 5Er and various types of henchmen [streetpunk, master villain's skilled agent, M.V. competent agent] in Champions. The easiest way to design something is to look at damage/defense/speed averages.

If you're 3 PCs have 5 speeds then they are getting 15 attacks per turn. If their average damage is 11d6 then they can expect to roll 38/11. If you want Henchmen to be one-hit foes then they need to have defense and stun totaling less than 38. If you want Sub-bosses to be two-hit foes then they need to have a def/stun total of more than 38. For bosses I'd increase their defense and speed and keep them two-hit foes.

Henchmen: 3 speed, 8 def, 20-25 stun

Sub-Bosses: 3 speed, 12 def, 30-35 stun

Bosses: 4 speed, 15 def, 35 stun.

Speed and CV are the next determining factors. For each 1 speed less than a hero I add another agent, and for each 2 OCV the agent has less than the DCV of the hero I double.

So a 7 DCV, 5 speed hero can fight 6 3 OCV henchmen, 4 5 OCV sub-bosses, or 2 6 OCV bosses without great difficulty.