power armor creation?

ihatecentipeeds

Does anyone know some good guidelines for creating power armor with the hero system (preferably 5th edition). I am new to the whole hero system and want to know if I should use multipower, elemental control or just a bunch of powers lumped together to make a power armor which is cost effective as well. Any help would be appreciated.:)

Any of the above a all viable ways to make power armor. A lot will depend on how the special effects work. Typically, my group tends to go the multipower route, but that has some limitations that may not be appropriate for your group/campaign.

Another way to do power armor is to build it as a vehicle. TUV has a pretty good example of one.

Aroooo

Probably not an elemental control unless it is something odd like sentient ice armor with cold powers.

I would suggest you figure out what you want the armor to do and how it does those things and then buy the powers, advantages, and limitations to do that. Most likely you will want to limit it as an obvious inaccessible focus and might want to use a multipower for various attacks or movement capabilities. Armor would be the most likely power for adding defense. You might also ponder some sort of endurance reserve to power the armor unless it runs off the life force of the person wearing it or it has a built in unlimited power source in which case everything would be bought with 0 endurance cost etc.

I thought there were some examples in star hero. I know defender of the champions is an example at the superhero level.

The most common construct you see in Hero Games books is to define whatever increased Characteristics and/or Powers the armor grants the character, and then apply either the "Focus" Limitation (usually Obvious) if you want the armor to be removable by an opponent after the character is downed, or the "Only in Hero ID" Limitation if you don't.