Simple solutions to try first

dstarfire

I'm no expert on hero, wouldn't even call myself a novice yet, but in reading the boards, I've seen a LOT of questions that can be answered with a little common sense. Unfortunately, common sense is the first thing to disappear when a rules dispute arises.

That said, here's some simple solutions to try before you go asking for help:

1. Throw out the rules.

If the players and GM can agree on something, the rules aren't neccesary. Rules exist solely for conflict resolution.

2. Is it neccesary?

Do you REALLY need to work out the mechanics of a [insert name of item here]? See idea 1

3. negotiate with the players/gm

Same general idea as before. If you want to do something just for the flavor/role-play aspect, there's no need to get the rules involved.

for GM's

3. Just say no.

A lot of questions seem to revolve around "how do I stop players from abusing ....?". Just say "no, you can't do that". If you feel it's neccesary (and appropriate) you can explain how doing that would be severely unbalancing.

4. If you do it, I can do it too.

As an alternative to number 3, warn the players that every tactic, tweak, and power-gaming trick they use can and will be used against them. This trick often stops munchkins dead in their tracks.

Yes, these ideas won't apply in all situations, and will be totally anathema to the rules-lawyers or other detail-oriented (aka anal retentive) people out there, but if you don't like it then don't use it. (actually, that should be idea number 5)

Re: Simple solutions to try first

Originally posted by dstarfire

I'm no expert on hero, wouldn't even call myself a novice yet, but in reading the

I started playing Champions back in 1984 (before it was even called Hero System). I AM an expert (he said semi-modestly).

1. Throw out the rules.

If the players and GM can agree on