Spirit Magic

mayapuppies

Hello all,

Here is a rough outline for Spirit Magic in my Fantasy World, any comments or suggestions would be welcomed as I'm new to this. Keep in mind, that magic is fairly uncommon and that this one of three types of magic that are available. All spells are bought individually.

The others are Divine (priests and the like) and Arcane (traditional mages...this is a tainted magic that corrupts the user over time...still trying to find a decent way to do this):

Spirit Magic

The spells of Spirit Magic are not what traditional mages would consider to be spells. In fact the shamans of these primitive peoples do not have any inherent magical talent at all. Instead they commune with the various spirits of nature that inhabit their wilderness homes.

The shamans, witch doctors and totem warriors negotiate with these spirits and request favors from them. As spirit folk tend to be mischievous and rather distracted, these "mages" have become consummate negotiators. Traditionally the practitioners of Spirit Magic live as one with their surroundings, never taking more than they need from their environs and avoiding the arbitrary destruction of their wilderness homes. This ecologically friendly mindset is imperative to their religious beliefs as well as establishing friendly terms in which to interact with the spirits.

The process that a shaman goes through to enact the favor of the spirits is as follows:

First the shaman must call forth the appropriate spirit (Incantations), which invariably requires the shaman to have an appropriate charm that is representative of the spirit (Focus) and then request the favor of the spirit. At this time the shaman and spirit enter into a negotiation (Requires Skill Roll), if the shaman proves a match for the spirit then the favor is enacted and the shaman must expend some of his own life force to remove the taint that the spirit has gained through its interaction with our plane of existence (Costs Endurance).