[newbie] Summon with Focus Question

Dr Archeville

Hey, hey,

HERO newbie here with a doozy of a question.

While looking through the Champions book, I saw that Mechanon has the power to summon robots, but his summon power has the OIF Limiation, as the robots he "summons" are actually built from avaialable mechanical objects (the Obvious Inaccessible Focus).

I had an idea for a variation of that Summon power for a Gadgetter character of mine. One of the devices he'd have is a hypospray of nanites, which, when injected into an average dog, alter that animal (both physically and mentally via neural re-wiring) until it is a Chromedog (see HERO System Bestiary; I can't cite the page number as I do not have my books with me here at work).

Could this be built as Summon [however many points a Chromedog is] Chromedog (X Active Points); OAF (Nanite Hypospray; -1), OIF (Dog of Opportunity; -1/2) ?

Re: [newbie] Summon with Focus Question

You could build it that way. If its a hypo you might at no range (-1/2 to it), or if its actually a spray, limited range (-1/4).

What the dog owner will think about your turning their beloved fluffy into chromie is another matter entirely.

Ah, another Transformers fan, yes? :)

But to your question:

One thing I should point out is that you can't get both OAF and OIF as Limitations on the same power. Basically you should take one or the other, and given what you've described, I'd go with the OAF. If you buy the Summon with the special effect of turning a dog into a Chromedog, then it just means you wouldn't be able to use it without an actual dog available. If you must have that as a Limitation as well, just don't call it OIF since you've already got an OAF. Just call it something like "Requires a dog to turn into a Chromedog (-1/2)" This is the same Limitation value as the "Creature must inhabit locale" Limitation listed in the text for Summon, and works out basically the same way.

Ah, okay, that makes sense. Thanks :)