So You Want to Run Sword and Sorcery...

Super Squirrel

I'm still learning as I go how to run a Sword and Sorcery style campaign. There is one trick I have learned very early and it has requires a bit of cognitive efforts on my part. I will now dispense this valuable lesson and some tricks to work with it.

"Villains are a dime a dozen"

Villains are evil, they are ruthless, they are cunning, and they die in Sword and Sorcery. The first thing you need to do to run a successful Sword and Sorcery campaign is let the concept of reoccuring villains go. You can have a master villain that is sending minor villains after the PCs but that master villain will eventually be found and die.

Valdorian Age Tricks

You can't kill supernatural creatures. When you "kill" them, they return to there home. They can be summoned again and again. If you insist on having a reoccuring villain, your best bet is a supernatural creature. This creature will have to either be repeatedly resummoned by a sorcerer or will need to trick sorcerers (through favors perhaps) into means that allow them to roam free. But it can do the job nicely.

And remember this... just because someone has died, doesn't mean they can't find themselves back once again. Souls wander aimlessly until they move on. Time also flows honky. They can be dead a week and be wandering aimlessly in the realm of the dead that have not passed on for what appears to be decades. I'll let you fill in the blanks yet.

Re: So You Want to Run Sword and Sorcery...

"Villains are a dime a dozen"

Villains are evil, they are ruthless, they are cunning, and they die in Sword and Sorcery. The first thing you need to do to run a successful Sword and Sorcery campaign is let the concept of reoccuring villains go. You can have a master villain that is sending minor villains after the PCs but that master villain will eventually be found and die.