Segmented Movement

Hi, I'm new to the game and these boards. My DM from a D&D game suggested we try this system after I accidentally killed a major character, ending the campaign. Having played twice now I've decided that I absolutely love the system. I purchased the 5th edition book and will be buying more.

I am currently trying to build a gliding brick. A 400kg gargoyle with wings, claws, and a tail. The claws were easy enough, Reduced Penetration on a HKA. The tail is a Prehensile Extra Limb with 1" of Stretching. The gliding I'm having a bit more trouble with. He has a jump of 12" with his 60 STR, with that I want to give him Fly at x4 END and then Glide.

I guess what I am wondering is: How does glide work? What is segmented movement and is it apropriate in this case? And how do I give the character a stall speed?

Thank you,

-Preston

Glad to hear you're enjoying the system!

Since these are mostly "how to" questions, I've moved the post so others can reply (only I can reply on the "5E Questions" board). Here are my answers, though I'm sure other folx will chime in.

How does glide work?

I don't really understand what you're asking. What specifically about Gliding is it that you don't understand? There's not much I can add outside of the book description.

What is segmented movement and is it apropriate in this case?

There is no official rule on "Segmented movement." It's a house rule some people use for vehicular movement. I'd suggest you ignore it altogether.

And how do I give the character a stall speed?

Characters' personal forms of movement generally do not have a stall speed at all. Vehicles sometimes do; there's a Limitation for it on 5E 316 that you could adapt for characters if you wanted to, I s'pose.

Re: Segmented Movement

Originally posted by PerennialRook

I guess what I am wondering is: How does glide work? What is segmented movement and is it apropriate in this case? And how do I give the character a stall speed?

Thank you,

-Preston