Jump to content

bryanb

HERO Member
  • Posts

    97
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by bryanb

  1. Re: What Would You Like To See In Upcoming HEROglyphs Columns?

     

    How about seeing a bit more "fleshing out" of the Mental illusions and Mind Control Powers and the appropriate modifiers for each - maybe more examples of which situations constitutes an EGO +10, EGO +20 and EGO +30 roll (e.g. MI making everyone believe the environment is 3m to the left out is a EGO +20)?

     

    My 2c

     

    Thanks

  2. Hi Everyone,

     

    I was wondering if anyone had created handouts for their super-villains - the handouts something in the vein of a CIA/UNTIL/FBI dossier on the character?

     

    I am thinking of doing something like this for Dr Destroyer but I was wondering (hoping?) if someone had already done something like this (for Dr D or any other villain). If not I will do it eventually and post.

     

    Thanks

    Daz

  3. Re: Multipower/Combat Rules Clarification

     

    1. There are several mechanical differences between force wall and armor. I can think of some scenarios where one might be more advantageous than the other.

     

     

    Would you be able to supply some examples? The book gives reasons why FW is restrictive but I can't see any disads to using the armour version.

     

    Thanks for the clarification of point 2 - I will check the rulebook again.

     

    Daz

  4. Hi Everyone,

     

    A character will be using the Questionite SHield MP from G&G and I have a question or two about it:

     

    1. Why is there both FW and Armour (UBO - Simultaneous) included as powers? What's the difference?

     

    2. With the armour slot does the PC have to specify that in his phase this is what he/she is using? Can he/she attack with the shield and then abort to the armour power? Does that abort cost he/she the next phase action?

     

    I suppose what I am not clear on is whether using a 0 phase action after one MP is used can another 0 phase action be used to switch to a defensive power?

     

    Any suggestions? (let me know if I need to make this clearer - it's late)

     

    Daz

  5. Re: Isle of Dr. Destroyer(?)

     

    I'm thinking of running this and would like some tips on how to modernise the module...anyone have any recommendations? One area that is dubious is the fact that with all the spy satellites around surely Destroyer's presence on the island would have been noticed or can anyone think of a logical reason why this is not the case?

     

    Thanks

  6. Hi Steve,

     

    I have checked the FAQ and done a search on this forum but I am still confused about the Hardened ruling. I understand that if bought at multple levels you must stipulate which attack (AP or Penetrating) it works against but what about the first level?

     

    Logic would dictate that the first level of hardened would also require a stipulation that it acts against either AP or penetrating...correct? (a page refernece in FReD would be a boon!).

     

    Thanks in advance.

     

    Bryan

  7. Hi Everyone,

     

    I am going to run a solo Champions campaign with one of my players for a little while - the idea is that this will give this character a little more showtime.

     

    For those that have done a one on one campaign what can you recommend? Are there some definite no-no's and definite campaign rules/genres I should adhere to?

     

    Thanks for any suggestions.

     

    Bryan

  8. Hi Everyone,

     

    Just wondering if anyone has run this as an adventure for their PC's? I am looking at doing so in order to bring my campaign universe closer to thatof the official Champions Universe.

     

    Any tips for running such a scenario would be greatly appreciated including:

     

    1. Suggested Villains

    2. Scenario Breakdowns (what hero/villain goes where; how the tractor ray works; etc)

    3. Suggested Defences/villains for Dr D's Detroit base.

    4. Any lead-up that needs to be established.

     

    For anyone who has run this adventure I would greatly appreciate any help you can offer.

     

    Resource-wise I have access to most of the Champions books (5th Ed) and only a few of the 4th Ed.

     

    Thanks in advance.

     

    Bryan

  9. The situation we had was one of the heroes attacking a single brick type villain...he would flash then use his NND until the brick could see (and was more likely to hit him back) and then flash him again.

     

    My concern is that as a GM I could use this tactic validly but it might really annoy the player. We then saw the "cover the eyes" mention and had an argument for 45 minutes over the ruling. This is why I am looking for a general rule for "covering senses".

     

    Based on what I have heard I am thinking:

     

    1. The character must know the opponent possesses some kind of flash.

     

    2. When villain attacks, character makes PER roll to determine if he identifies attack as flash. If failed he/she is hit. If successful go to step 3.

     

    3. Character and villain make opposing DEX rolls to see who "got in" first. If villain wins character is flashed. If character wins he managed to cover his senses. Go to step four.

     

    4. ???? This is where I am stuck. Is it an absolute effect? Does it cost the "hero" a phase?

     

    What does everyone think? Any better ideas? Help??

     

    I know this will come again when we play next and I would love to have some kind of ruling before then.

     

    Thanks for your help in advance.

     

    Daz

  10. Hi Everyone,

     

    I have a question regarding Flash and the statement that at the GM's discretion a character can cover their eyes or ears to avoid a flash against that specific sense (in FRED under the description for the power Flash).

     

    My questions are:

     

    1. Under what circumstances would this happen?

     

    2. If this were allowed (assume a flash vs sight group and the character covers his eyes), how is the action adjudicated? Does the character have to abort to cover his eyes? Is the protection absolute (ie. Stop all the Flash) or only partial (gives 2 points of Flash DEF for example). I know this may be effect specific but I am looking for a general rule to base my decisions by.

     

    I realise this is very "situation" dependent but, like I said., I would like to know what others do to adjudicate this rule. Specifically does the character need to "use" his action phase to block against this attack (ie. cover his eyes) and is the protection complete or just partial?

     

    Thanks everyone.

     

    Daz

  11. Hi Steve,

     

    I have a question regarding Flash and the statement that at the GM's discretion a character can cover their eyes or ears to avoid a flash against that specific sense (in FRED under the description for the power Flash).

     

    My questions are:

     

    1. Under what circumstances would this happen?

     

    2. If this were allowed (assume a flash vs sight group and the character covers his eyes), how is the action adjudicated? Does the character have to abort to cover his eyes? Is the protection absolute (ie. Stop all the Flash) or only partial (gives 2 points of Flash DEF for example). I know this may be effect specific but I am looking for a general rule to base my decisions by.

     

    Thanks for your help.

     

    Daz

     

    PS - Thanks for the great forum and answering our questions so promptly.

  12. Originally posted by RDU Neil

    Hey, thanks all. I'd looked at Anubis and found him a bit wanting in the power category (but a good start).

     

    What I had not thought of was the Demon Princes in the Bestiary. Thanks for that. Should offer some of the trickier insights I was looking for.

     

    This current storyline has morphed into "what is the nature of godhood" because at least one PC was close to "crossing the threshold" and moving into realms far from human. There are established reasons why the gods don't just roam the earth... but there is also a bit of misinformation about what exactly are the gods... what do they represent... what is their relationship to humanity... and are superheroes the new gods?... kind of thing going on.

     

    As the PCs are mostly in the 500-600 point range... 150+150 starting level, so years of EXP to get them here... Anubis would just be one of the boys, and not a total threat to the team. Set will probably turn out a lot higher, just to give the Vanguard (our team) a challenge.

     

    Thanks again for all your input.;)

     

    Hey RDU,

     

    When you come up with a writeup could you post it? I am introducing Anubis, Ra and Set into my campaign soon and would love a writeup to peruse.

     

    Thanks

     

    Daz

  13. Re: Mechanon

     

    Originally posted by Wildcat

    Here's Mechanon taken from the 5th ed Champions book, and colored with Photoshop. I tried to get as good at as the one we all see off to the side there .

    <-----

    Hope you Like it.

    attachment.php?s=&postid=159160

    WC

     

    PS: Kinda fel cheesey not posting Original Art... I need to get back to drawing, not just coloring

     

    Wildcat - this is fantastic - Can you post some more old Champions characters?

     

    Thanks again.

    Daz

  14. Hi there Everyone,

     

    I have a quick question I am hoping some astute FH readers/players can answer.

     

    The FHG is broken into schools of magic and each school requires a different skill roll. I like this idea but I have a problem with slotting spells into specific schools - for example if a divination spell has a fiery effect could it not be classed as elemental magic (maybe the Wizardry school spell detect magic creates a fiery aura - is this not elemental magic)?

     

    What I am trying to get at is if a character wishes to he could create spells that have, for example, an elemental effect but belong to another school - do they also belong to the elemental school as well?

     

    Let me know if I am not making sense and I will try to clarify..

     

    Thanks

     

    Daz

  15. Originally posted by J4y

    They don't? I can't recall the rules on it but my GM usually gives a die or two extra damage for improvised weapons. Assuming they're sturdy enough to be used as such of course. Some modern cars are more akin to an empty plastic pop bottle than a bat...

     

    This is what I was looking at doing - giving 2d6 extra damage for using improvised weapons....otherwise why would you need one (and having the characters destroy their surroundings is always fun!)?

  16. Hi Everyone,

     

    I was just wondering if someone could clarify for me the rules for using objects of opportunity (cars, lamp-posts, baseball bats) in Champions.

     

    My understanding is that the target takes the number of points of DEF and BODY that the object has in dice damage (eg. if it had Def=3 and Body=2 the target would take 5d6 normal damage). Is this correct? Do you get to add strength?

     

    Thanks for your help

     

    Daz

  17. Originally posted by Fur Face

    Hey Daz,

     

    If you were playing in a heroic level game, that would be correct. In a superheroic level game it runs like this:

     

    Killing Attacks: Cannot exceed base damage by 2X

     

    Normal Damage: Weapon adds to STR. If you have a 50 STR brick (10 Damage Classes or DC) and he picks up a baseball bat (which I'll call 4 DC's), then if he hits it does a total of 14 DCs.

     

    The only way to get around the 2X for Killing Attacks is with martial arts, becasue martial arts adds to normal and killing damage. So, in referring to the example above:

     

    Using a martial strike (+2 DC), plus STR, plus a baseball bat, equals 16 DC's.

     

    Using a killing attack (+1/2HKA), the max damage would be 2X plus 1/2.

     

    Do you know where these rules are located in the book (H5 or UMA)?

     

    I thought that a person without MA using a weapon just did as many dice as the weapon has DEF and Body? (Do you know where this is mentioned in the book as well?)

     

    Thanks for your help.

     

    Daz

  18. Hello Everyone,

     

    I may have misinterpreted the rules but with MA and weapons the damage of the weapon can never exceed 2x the weapons base damage...

     

    Isn't this rather limiting (especially for Champions campaigns)?

     

    Please let me know if I have the wrong end of the stick so to speak...

     

    Thanks

     

    Daz

  19. Originally posted by tiger

    Mine in no particular order

     

    Mindgames

    Viper

    Classic Organizations. Had many favorites of mine, Demon, Clown, Neutral Ground

     

    Could someone clarify for me exactly what organisations are covered in this book - I was thinking of buying it but VIPER is out and the new Primus is scheduled for release...someday.

     

    Thanks

     

    PS - My vote so far would be the Zodiac Conspiracy - just for the colour artwork

  20. Hi Folks,

     

    An online store has available several issues of the old "Adventurer's Club" magazine for sale. I am interested in purchasing the issues that have Champions Adventures/Scenarios (see Steve there is a market for adventures) but they are quite pricey.

     

    I was wondering if anyone has read/played any of the following and if they had could they please give me a small review:

     

    Adventurer's Club #1 - The Mechanon Gambit (they are charging an arm and a leg for this - is it any good?)

     

    Adventurer's Club #3 - Terror in the Treasures

     

    Adventurer's Club #4 - Nova

     

    Adventurer's Club #18 - Unspecified Champions adventure

     

    Adventurer's Club #20 - Unspecified Champions adventure

     

    Your help would be greatly appreciated!!!

     

    Thanks

×
×
  • Create New...