Gemini Introduction

sentry0

Hey all, I will shed some light on Gemini for people to understand it.

Gemini is my passion project that I’ve been picking away at for a few years now.  It started as a Rifts conversion to OpenD6 that I ran for fun a few years ago.  During that playtest, I realized that the ‘Special Abilities’ system in OpenD6 was a little anemic in some regards (and super overpowered in others).  My perspective was mainly influenced by my years of playing Hero.  I liked much of the speed and simplicity of OpenD6, and I knew I wanted to merge the two somehow.

That led me down the path to something called Chimera.  Chimera was just something I did for my friends.  At one point, I got some feedback from outside my circle of friends via Reddit, and I threw together a basic website for it to keep interested parties in the know.

I built apps for character building and playing the game locally because I’m a software dev, and I could.  COVID hit, and we couldn’t play in person anymore, so I built out Roll20 support via the apps by allowing you to export the characters you build in the apps directly into a Roll20 game via an importer script I wrote.  I also customized the Wild Die API script and created my character sheets for Roll20 for Chimera.

As the rules evolved and stabilized, I wanted to see if there was a way to publish the rules.  My main concern was that some critical concepts were burrowed from Hero. Since OpenD6 is OGL and Hero is not, it made sense to approach DoJ first.  Luckily, Jason Walters was receptive to the idea, so we ended up negotiating a deal to bring Chimera to print.  As we worked through the details, it was decided to retire the name Chimera, and instead, we picked Gemini as the name.

And here we are.