How to make Computer Programming skill behave like the Gambling skill (have categories and subcategories)?

Pardon9826

Hello:

I am very new to Hero Designer and Hero in general, so please pardon me if this is a stupid question.

I am trying to make the Computer Programming skill behave like the Gambling skill (have categories and subcategories).
I have created an extension template that modifies the Computer Programming skill.  I have copy-pasted the Gambling skill XML from the Main6E template into it and edited the names to match the categories and subcategories I need.  When I create a character using that template, Computer Programming skill charges 2 points for a category (good) and 2 points for a subcategory (bad).  I cannot figure out what is going wrong.  The XML is identical but for the names, some removed categories and subcategories, and the description, but the behavior is different in the app.  What am I missing?

You can use the "Adders" option to put in single categories, not bother with re-coding it.  Unless you're doing an extremely heavy computer science -focused campaign where it is incredibly critical if you understand unix but not Apple OS, for example, it seems excessively fiddly and complicated to do so, though.

Thank you.  I am going to run an extremely heavy computer-focused campaign.  But more importantly, I want to figure out how to modify skills - Computer Programming is just the first attempt, but I plan to use custom templates extensively.

I have also tried copying and pasting the Computer Programming text from the 5E main template, both as-is and with the "source" parts removed - same effect.  For some reason it refuses to behave like Gambling or Survival or any other categorized skill.