RSR spells, PSLs, and complimentary skills

Greatwyrm

Looking through the Grimoire, it seems like it's pretty easy to get a high penalty to your Magic roll if you're using Requires Skill Roll in your magic system. Even if you're only taking it at the 1/5pts level, it can add up pretty quickly. So, since I'm still pretty new to all this, I'd appreciate any feedback on these questions.

1) It looks like Penalty Skill Levels are really only meant for combat stuff like range penalties. Would you allow players to buy them for Magic rolls? Would you need to limit them to something like "only for Fire spells" or "only for Summons"?

2) If you had a system where you had one basic Magic power skill, would you allow characters to have Knowledge Skills that are complimentary for skill rolls? For example, a wizard could use KS: Necromancy as a complimentary skill to offset the penalties for trying a particularly difficult Necromancy spell.

I was thinking of using penalty skill levels for stuff like that but Hero Designer didn't allow it, so I gave up on it.

I like the idea of complimentary skill rolls. It could help individulize the characters a lot in a game with a lot of magic users. I would probably set the scope of the knowledge skill at the school of magic level, like your necromancy example.

I'm not sure if I would allow PSLs (strangely enough, in years of running FH, this question has never come up...)

But I do allow complementary skills for exactly the reason you state: it gives mages something else to spend their points on and differentiates one mage from another.

I also levy penalties for doing things like spellcasting in combat, but give bonuses for extra time, good tools and settings, etc. So the smart mage only uses those high active point, big penalty spells when he can afford to take some time, has all his magical gear to hand and has a bunch of minions on hand to prevent any interruptions!

cheers, Mark