STR minimum question

khagler

I'm relatively new to the Hero system, and as I slowly plow through the main rulebook I decided to model myself as a character, to get acquainted with character generation and Hero Designer. While doing so, I realized that the STR minimums for various weapons are _much_ too high.

For example, the STR minimums given in Dark Champions for the Colt Detective Special, M1911, and CZ-75 are all 9. My STR would be 5--that's the easiest characteristic to determine, thanks to the handy chart of lifting capabilities. However, I know from considerable personal experience that I have no trouble using any of those pistols in either hand, or in a two-handed grip. (Also, the Detective Special is maybe half the size of the other two.)

The same thing shows up in rifles. The models I'm familiar with and can use effectively aren't listed (Steyr Scout Rifle and Winchester 94), but I'm also well acquainted with the Garand, M14, and M16 (or rather, the semi-auto versions of the last two). These have STR minimums of 12-15. Now, I know that I can't use these effectively when firing offhand, but I _can_ use them just fine from a braced position.

Does anybody know why the STR minimums are so high?

I do like the idea of a minimum--I know that most rifles are too heavy for me to use effectively, and I like a game mechanic that reflects that.

Re: STR minimum question

It's not so much a question of the str minimums being too high, it's more a question of how accurately you can control the guns when you shoot them. You can still fire a weapon if you have a lower strength you just get accuracy penalties. Since characters have a starting strength of 10 in Hero those penalties don't seem to be much of an issue most of the time. If the str minimum were 5 what would be the point of having a str minimum? Every person in the game would start out exceeding that.

Does anybody know why the STR minimums are so high?