Fresh Meat

Muawijhe

I'm pretty new to HERO. Read through the book kinda hodge-podge so far, but I really like what I see. Unlike most games where the "possibilities are endless", I feel it's true for HERO.

The book is rather daunting, though, with all the rules and special cases, even for someone who reads through new RPG books each week. I was wondering what helpful hints and tips you more experienced HERO gamers and Narrators can give for running the first few games.

Also, I was wondering if there were any gamers in the Ann Arbor/Adrian area that wouldn't mind either 1) a new player or 2) someone that'd sit in just to watch and get a feel for the game. If so, drop me a mail at muawijhe2000@yahoo.com

Thanks in advance and game on.

Helpful hints for a new fellar?

First off welcome aboard.

Well, my advice would be to keep it simple to start with. Don't try to do too much too soon. Get a grip of the basics before going crazy with more exotic concepts. I would add any optional rules that you plan on using one by one and explain them before you intend to introduce them.

Another thing would be to use us. This very Discussion board is a handy resource, you can fire off a question and we'll try to help and are usually friendly enough.

You can try running a few simple adventures with no advantages, no limitations, no END, no knockback, etc. Just the simplest rules.

Once you've got the basics, start adding juicy bits.

If you don't know how to build a power, ask here. Almost always, several good suggestions will follow.

Just keep things simple at first. What genre do you plan to run? If you just want to run something to get a feel for the system, and genre doesn't matter, go with something heroic level, say 50 + 50 or 75 + 75 pts.

Build some characters.

Run some trial combats.

Don't use all the combat rules. Ignore everything marked "Optional."

Don't use the Powers rules at first.