Block vs Dodge

Kdansky

Has anyone ever run a detailed analysis on block vs dodge? It's clear that if you ignore the "First after block" and "dodge multiple attacks is better than block multiple attacks" side effects, there is a best defensive reaction to any OCV - OCV / DCV - Combat Levels Situation. I'm planning on writing a small tool to calculate these things, because I'm interested. (I believe Dodge is a lot better than block, but I might be wrong). And I won't do it if someone else already did so. :)

Re: Block vs Dodge

Assuming equal OCV/DCV for both combatants, dodge reduces the chance of being hit from 62.5% to 25.9%, whereas block retains the 62.5% chance of being hit, but then gives a 62.5% chance of voiding any hit.

I'm not that good at maths, but basically, you've got a 26% chance of being hit if you dodge, and a 39% chance of being hit if you block, so you are right. Block gets worse for every aditional attempt to hit you.

Block allows you to go first next go if you would go on the same phase as your opponent but at a lower DEX.

Assuming equal OCV/DCV for both combatants, dodge reduces the chance of being hit from 62.5% to 25.9%, whereas block retains the 62.5% chance of being hit, but then gives a 62.5% chance of voiding any hit.

I'm not that good at maths, but basically, you've got a 26% chance of being hit if you dodge, and a 39% chance of being hit if you block, so you are right. Block gets worse for every aditional attempt to hit you.

Block allows you to go first next go if you would go on the same phase as your opponent but at a lower DEX.

Dodge also gives you the ability to use any applicable OCV only levels to reduce your chance of being hit.

Those are the basic facts. But what if your OCV/DCV and the enemies is not the same?

Assume OCV 10 - Attack

OCV 0 - Defender

DCV 0 - Defender

If you dodge, he'll get an 18-, 100% hit chance.