Norse Campaign Journal

Ragnarok

Hello folks. I wanted to start a campaign journal for both your entertainment and for some feedback on my campaign. This is my first time as a GM so I'm basically doing the best I can to make sure they have fun.

This campaign is heavily Norse-themed. It's not strictly historically Norse, and the PCs aren't necessarily authentically Norse, but what I'm hoping for the campaign to achieve is a nice balance between Norse mythology and culture and a few variations of my own.

Roster:

Felnor - A well-respected, wizened human fighter-type at the ripe age of 40. He uses throwing axes and dual wields hand axes.

Jax - A young, curious Ice Elementalist from the Northern Wastes. The caster of the party.

Hadhood - Gruff Dvergar tank-type. Strong as an ox, but slow and cumbersome.

Sol - Alfar archer with some Druidic cantrips. A.K.A. "Bjorn" - his human-given name.

Campaign Opening:

The four travellers converge separately from various desinations to an island port. They're seeking passage to Midgard, the nearby continent about the size of Australia. They do a bit of asking around, with the Dvergar and Alfar characters getting some strange looks. They're all told at separate points that there have been mists that have swept across the channel, mysteriously destroying ships caught in it. They're told the only man crazy enough to dare a passage is a guy by the name of Knudsen. After a bit of a wild goose chase, they find him at separate points and pay for passage as long as they row and fight if they come under attack. They ship out in the morning, so Knudsen arranges for them to stay overnight at the meadhall. They all meet each other and cautiously converse with each other with a little less enthusiasm than I had hoped. They bed down for the night.