Question about Linked Powers

Just Joe

I've been playing Hero System for over 20 years and it seems like I ought to be able to answer this question myself . . . but I can't, so I'm swallowing my pride and asking.

As I read the "linked" limitation (in 5ER), I do not see an option to have two powers that can each be used if and only if the other is used. I'm thinking of something like an eb + flash which can only be used together (i.e., the eb can only be used with the flash and the flash can only be used with the eb) -- it would seem natural that they would need to be used in proportion to one another, but I'm not sure how important that is to my question.

Is there a way to build powers linked in this way? If so, then how? If not, then why the heck not??

I mean these as 5th edition questions, but if there is a noteworthy difference in 6th edition (or in an earlier edition), I'd be interested in hearing about it.

Re: Question about Linked Powers

There was this bit from the FAQs

Is there a Limitation value for a Linked power that must be used whenever the greater power is used?

Not specifically, no. The value of that Limitation would depend on just how Limiting it is. If the Linked power cost a whole bunch of END, or otherwise inconvenienced the user, then maybe it would be worth 1/4 more Limitation. If there’s no particular drawback, or a rare drawback, it’s probably just +0 more Limitation.

Are you talking about putting Linked on both powers?

If so, I've seen it done, I would look really carefully at it, but I don't see any particular issue with the concept.

If I can't use A without using B, and I can't use B without using A - both should have Linked.

As Linked normally stands if B has the Limitation, then A can be used without it. So putting the Limitation on A as well, means you can't use either without using both.

What that's worth, is up to the GM, ultimately, but the concept it sound. IMO.

6th edition deals with jointly linked powers.