New Campaign Limitations

Gandalf970

I have taken your advice on this forum after playing for a year plus and understanding the game and power creep more.  Here are the limitations I am going to put on my campaign to keep it manageable and not have the "arms race"

OCV, DCV, OMCV, DMCV= 6 CAP

DC= 6 CAP

Skill Cap=13 

Armor Tiring Rules=Home Brew

Magic system will be the Fantasy Codex rules

PD, ED, rPD, rED= 8 cap (is this too high)?

I have one question, with these caps do you still allow purchasing of maneuvers from fighting styles and martial arts which pushes it beyond the cap or not?

Any more insight as to rabbit holes and traps I need to watch out for?

Offhand, the Mental caps look too high since you're going to often be working with NPC characters with a 2 or 3 DMCV versus a PC with a 6 OMCV (a 3 or 4 point gap) while your physical and energy combat is going to more often be a 1-2 point gap or completely even. But I'm not very experienced playing in 6th in Fantasy Hero, maybe that's perfect.

The only real trap that I'd advise against is being married to the caps.

If they don't seem to be working like you want them to work, try something else rather than keep trying to put a square peg into a round hole.

Caps are good. They help shape a character's capabilities when they first start, and won't let one character outshine another.

However, in my games I remove the initial caps once the game starts and use a new set of caps that characters have to build to.

I tend to think in terms of how "powerful" or how much "epic scope" I'd like the game to have.