Summoned Weapon and Just Plain Attack

Christopher R Taylor

OK please bear with me here.  I've been playing Hero since 1982 and have written for Hero Games for a long time (My first work was a set of spells for the 4th edition Fantasy Hero Companion).

Forever something has confused and bothered me and I have never worked it out.

What is the difference between a blast that uses a focus... and a focus that uses a blast?

What I mean is this: you can build an ability Blast, OAF, and it creates a blast that you can only use if you have an OAF.  But you can also build it as a gun, an OAF that anyone can pick up and use as a blast.

There are two aspects to this.  First is the "only I can use this" concept vs univeral foci, which is explained in the rules. That's not what I'm talking about here.

What I am talking about here is, say, someone who can do a blast, but only if they are holding their special focus.  Like a wizard who has to have a staff, or an alien that can do an electrical blast, but they have to have a piece of wood to use as a focus.

Then there are just foci that people can use to blast with, like a ray gun.

And, to complicate matters, there is the idea of a character that can hand out items that do something, like a magic wand or a totem.  They create the focus, give it to someone, and that person can use it.

ALL OF THESE ARE BUILT THE SAME.  But they all have different specific characteristics, advantages, and drawbacks which affect how they act.

What you are asking is just more definition on how the Power was purchased.

Each of those Blast Powers(wand, chunk of wood or gun) are being defined using the OAF Focus  game mechanic. Personal and Universal are really just codified SFX. They are so ingrained into Hero's history that they are included as common variations on the Limitation, Focus.

While they are considered equal in value per RAW, I can see that this may not be accepted by all GM's nor appropriate for all campaigns.