Healing w/Damage Over Time Advantage

Steve

How would the following power build work exactly?

Healing BODY 4d6, Damage Over Time (4 damage increments, damage occurs every 20 Minutes, +1/4) (50 Active Points)

I've never tried adding DOT to Healing before so wasn't sure how it would affect the base ability.

I'm thinking you could be healed, then, if you got injured again after the first application of Healing was applied, you'd get automatically healed again twenty minutes after the first healing occurred, then you could get injured again then healed again twenty minutes later, and so on for a few iterations. This setup seems to function a bit like using the Decreased Re-Use Duration advantage without actually taking it.

Has anyone ever playtested this sort of Healing construct?

Damage over Time should probably have been called Effect Over Time, because pretty much any power that has a die roll can be worked through using DOT.  However, I suggest a few things be done if you allow HOT (Heal over Time) powers in your game.

First, HOT's ignore the once per day limitation on Healing.  Kind of like how DOT's ignore recovery times until they're finished cycling, HOTs are considered to be one slowly acting power, not a bunch of separate powers going off in sequence.

Second, treat Healing as an Adjustment Power so that it is subject to the "defensive powers" rule which limits the effectiveness of HOTs somewhat.

This gives you a pretty balanced, effective, useful, but somewhat expensive manner of healing people over a time period without the kludge of applying regeneration as an attack etc.

3 hours ago, Christopher R Taylor said:

Second, treat Healing as an Adjustment Power so that it is subject to the "defensive powers" rule which limits the effectiveness of HOTs somewhat.

Healing is an adjustment power.