New to the system, running an Ultimate Marvel Game

Allandrel

I'm new to the Hero System (been roleplaying for ten years), and am preparing to run a game set in Marvel's Ultimate Universe.

I'm still working on getting a feel for the character creation rules, and I figured that writing up some of the established characters would help out - but I'm very interested in suggestions as to how to go about it.

I'll start off by trying out Ultimate Spider-Man. I’m going into a lot of detail with each step, because as I said I’m trying to get a feel for character creation. Commentary is welcome.

1. CHARACTER CONCEPTION

A fifteen year-old science nerd who gained spider-like powers from an accident in a genetics lab, Peter Parker took up crimefighting as Spider-Man out of a sense of responsibility fostered by his late Uncle Ben. Despite having a lot of power, his inexperience means that he frequently messes up.

This priofile represents Spider-Man at the end of issue #21, following his defeat of Doctor Octopus and Kraven the Hunter.

2. PACKAGE DEALS

None.

3. CHARACTERISTICS

Spider-Man is a Superheroic character, and so not subject to Normal Characteristic Maxima. None of his Characteristics have Limitations on them.

Strength (STR): Spider-Man has superhuman strength, enough to lift several tons. We haven't seen him test the limits of his strength, so we don't have an absolute value to base his rating on (as we do with the Marvel Universe Spider-Man, who can bench press about 9,000 kilograms under optimal conditions). Ultimate Spider-Man hasn't fully developed physically, and hasn't shown quite so much raw power, so let's give him a strength limit of around 7,000 kilograms.

41 STR: costs 31 character points, Roll 17-, lift 7,200 kg, 8d6 damage, base forward leaping distance of 8".