PS question?

Hisho

profession skill, short question: Is it allowed to go with PS : Thief. I thought about it and until now haven't seen anything that would say something against this idea (maybe I have overread something ? )

I'm a little bit puzzled because this would mean I could buy PS : Thief for my thief character, he would know all about lockpicking, trading stolen goods and so one but wouldn't this be a rule violation.

I'm new to HERO and i trying to do my first character at the moment.

The broader the skill, the less the character knows about any one aspect.

If Fred has PS: Thief 13- and Chuck has PS: Stolen goods disposal 13- then Chuck knows as much about selling hot loot as Fred does about all aspects of thieving put together.

Usually the guy with PS: Thief takes a penalty to his roll to do something exacting (like finding the best possible price for his goods) while the expert in that area doesn't.

I would say being a thief requires you to buy KS: Thief to know secrets if in a guild or at the oustide to know the slang. As for PS, I would say drop it and go with Lock Picking, Streetwise and any other skills based on the genre you playing in. I can't right off hand even say what having PS: Thief would do for ya if you have all the other needful skills to be one.

G

I have problems with the PS skills myself, but I don't think that it would necessarily do what you think. It won't give you skills that have their own entry in FRed. It might be a Complementary Skill for a few skills that Thieves often use, like using Streetwise to find a Fence, or maybe Perception rolls when casing a house, or looking for a hidden safe.

I think a lot of PS skills are used more oftern for Complementary Skill rolls than anything else. It can represent the fact that the character is better at skills often associated with his profession when they are used specifically in the execution of said profession.

Originally posted by Hisho