Missile deflection query

Kzinbane

I'm still learning the GMing ropes with the game and had one of my villains use missile deflection finally last game.

From my understanding from reading the write up (several times - it's a bit confusing) my take is that the deflection is sort of an attack on the attack. In other words the attacking missile ocv 7 for example is treated as DCV 7 for the missile deflection roll (did that make sense?). Boiled down further - my missile deflection is OCV 7 - the missile I am trying to "hit" is OCV 7. I need an 11 or better to "win" and make the missile go elsewhere otherwise it hits my character.

Better? Have I got the idea right?

Now the question of the day... if the attacker who is trying to hit with the missile has ocv 7 and rolls really well (say rolls a 5) do you take that into account at all or is it just basic OCV of attacker regardless of what they roll that you deal with?

Originally posted by Kzinbane

OK. So even if the firing side makes a great roll (say a 4) the deflecting side needs only roll the firer's OCV (in the example a 7)? Never really thought of OCV as being very useful as defense.

Actually the attacker doesn't roll dice yet. Like a Block maneuver, the Defender rolls OCV vs. OCV and if the roll is successful, then the missile is deflected. If the Deflection fails, the attacker rolls to hit normally.

The toughest part about Missile Deflection is GMing the special effects. Entangles and AE attacks can't normally be deflected, but if the attck's special effect warrants it, the GM might make special exceptions. You will have to use your own good judgement here.

I guess it depends on the effects like you say. For Captain America an entangle could be theoretically avoided, but it may hit his shield instead of him. For Spider-man, assuming one bought his uncanny dodging ability by using missile deflection, an entangle would just miss like any other attack (in my opinion - were I GMing a game with him in it).