Hero Designer in a Star Hero Campaign?

Dave Baum

I'm trying to decide if Hero Designer is worth buying for a Star Hero campaign. I am planning on using the Terran Empire setting, so I'll primarily be using the aliens, equipment, etc from that book. Since this is my first time running a Hero campaign, I really don't know how much item/alien/NPC creation I'll be doing.

I can see where Hero Designer would be very helpful for a Champions campaign, but I'm not sure for Star Hero. It seems like most of my generic NPC creation would be starting with one of the alien packages, filling out the characteristics/skills, and adding equipment. For major NPCs, the big work would be the non-rules stuff. In short, I don't see that I'd be creating lots of powers.

What has everyone else's experience been? Is a lot of your prep time spent creating characters, equipment, ships, etc? Has Hero Designer been a real time-saver for you (or alternatively has it enabled you to create a richer game)?

Has anyone used the character packs (for Star Hero and/or Terran Empire/Spacers Toolkit)? The web site is a bit brief in their description. Do the packs include all of the equipment from the books as prefabs?

Thanks,

Dave

Re: Hero Designer in a Star Hero Campaign?

I've toyed with the idea of buying Hero Designer, but I've never given in. The fact that my FLGS doesn't have a copy staring me in the face every time I go in helps with that decision.

If you plan on using prepublished stuff almost exclusively, you can probably do without it. I understand that there are add-on packages for HD that makes it supereasy to build a character with prepublished package deals and equipment, but for most purposes it's really not necessary at the heroic level of play.