Another problem : creating a "global" mental power

Glabutz

I feel quite lost with all the opportunities of the HS. Even if I am an old gamer (I've been playing quite a lot since 1987), I miss some perspective with Hero System.

So, in my current game (Fading Suns), I started with another system, I used "global" Psi powers. So, the "mentalist" knew the "mental" power and the "matier" power.

The list was originaly a three powers list with "energy" power, and a forth came in, the "deplacement" power (mixed of energy and matier powers).

The idea was : "your character is free. Tell me what you want, I'll give you a task number".

So, with his "mental" power, he could :

- read mind

- use telepathy

- convince others

- "freeze" people (by preventing the brain to give orders to the body)

- make them loose memories

- sometimes explode their heads

The two last were the hardest.

With his "matter" power, he could :

- lockpick

- melt matrial elements

- activate molecules of material to change it a little...

Thes two powers were almost endless, and he could do almost anything, if he could just get the right TN (make a metal door "softer", so that one of them can force it was quite hard, changing a material in another one was not. Same with the mind power)

He could quite easily defeat common people, but had hard time with vilains.

How could I translate this in Hero System, and how much would it cost ?

How could I translate this in Hero System...

You could easily do each of these Powers.

- read mind

Telepathy Power.

- use telepathy

Telepathy or Mind Link Powers.

- convince others

Mind Control Power.

- "freeze" people (by preventing the brain to give orders to the body)

Entangle Power with the Based On Ego Combat Value Advantage.

- make them loose memories

Major Transform Power defined as affecting "Target's Memories" with the Based On Ego Combat Value Advantage.

- sometimes explode their heads

Ego Attack Power with the Does BODY Advantage.

- lockpick