Question on Adjustment Powers

Dr Archeville

Some caveats: I only have a few 5E books (and haven't had them for very long, and they're the only HERO books I've ever owned), not 5Er, so (A) I'm still a newbie to the game, and (B) it may well be that what I'm about to ask is already covered in the 5Er book.

Say I've got a Gadgeteer with a 60 point VPP Gadget Pool. One of his devices is a Synaptic Interference Generator pistol which causes weakness, vertigo, and slowed reaction times -- a Drain on STR, DEX, and SPD. How should it be built?

Drain Strength 1d6, Ranged (+½) [15 Active Points]; OAF (-1) [real cost: 8 points] plus Drain Dexterity 1d6, Ranged (+½) [15 Active Points]; OAF (-1), Linked to Drain (-½) [real cost: 6 points] plus Drain Speed 1d6, Ranged (+½) [15 Active Points]; OAF (-1), Linked to Drain (-½) [real cost: 6 points]. Total Costs: 45 Active, 20 Real.

or

Drain Strength, Dexterity and Speed 2d6, Affects Three Characteristics Simultaneously (+1), Ranged (+½) [50 Active Points]; OAF (-1). Total Cost: 50 Active, 25 Real.

(Personally, I think that since being able to affect 2 Characteristcs/Powers simultaneously is a +½ Advantage, and being able to affect 4 simultaneously is a +1 Advantage, being able to affect 3 should be a +¾ Advantage. Was this changed in 5Er?)

Similarly, say he makes a Metabolic Leeching Gauntlet, which lets him sap a foe's strength, stamina and agility -- a Transfer on STR, DEX, and STUN. Should it be

Transfer 1d6 (target’s STR to Archeville’s STR) [15 Active Points]; OIF (-½) [real cost 10 points] plus Transfer 1d6 (target’s DEX to Archeville’s DEX) [15 Active Points]; OIF (-½), Linked to Transfer (-½) [real cost 8 points] plus Transfer 1d6 (target’s STUN to Archeville’s STUN) [15 Active Points]; OIF (-½), Linked to Transfer (-½) [real cost 8 points]. Total Cost: 45 Active, 26 Real points.

or