Machine Control Power(s)?

The Monster

I thought I'd run this by and see how people react.

I'm starting my first Champions campaign soon (I've been running other Hero for >15 years), and one of the players came up with an interesting concept: machine control. Inspired in part by young Anakin Solo. Basically, the idea is that the character talks or communes with the target machine and can then repair it or take control of it.

But how to do this in Hero?

Repair is easy in concept, an Aid or Healing limited only to machines (or maybe Regeneration usable by others?).

For taking over machines, I came up with two solutions. The first is a linked Psychokinesis, limited to only machine controls, with a linked Clairsentience, limited to an operator/pilot perspective. That way the hero can take control of a vehicle remotely (probably limited to LOS on the vehicle as well).

The other is a little more radical: a ranged Summon AI. Since all the AI needs is a TF, PS, and/or System Ops skills, plus a small PK to move controls about, it's really cheap, even after adding Loyal to Summoner and Broad Class of Summonable Entities (to reflect different machine types). Throw in a Mind Link to the summoned AI and you've got yourself an independent self-controlled car/helicopter/tank/etc.

Does all this sound kosher? I'm just looking for possible rules and plot problems (and maybe a pat on the back for creativity?).

Sling and arrows PD - up and running...

Sounds reasonable to me. You might also want to consider using various Mental Powers on computers, AIs etc. Mind Scan, Telepathy and especially Mind Control would be very useful and appropriate. Do you have the 5th Edition rulebook or The Ultimate Mentalist? Those books have rules and guidelines for how to use Mental Powers on machines, and UM has tips on Psychokinesis.