Martial Arts Help!

MrThou

Uh, hello. Welcome to my first post on these boards ever!

But enough about me, i need a lil help.

Im running a Martial Arts game using hte ultimite MArtist, (and im new to heros) I have a couple rule questions/concerns.

Dodging. I need a way for this not to be such an arse saver. +5 ish DCV!? for only 1/2 and action and 1 END? Am i missing something? Or is that true. Should it be true, what do you guys recomend to make it less devistating? Ive been toying with the idea of a variable dodge. Spend end upto your dodge. So if you want to do a full dodge, 5END, if you think 2 will do it, 2 END. This will be done Before numbers are tossed around the room.

And the dodge DCV dosnt stack with whatever manuver you did correct? Example. Yu-Sool strike 0/+2, the dodge would only be -/+5 and not +7 correct?

But as an alternative, if i had 3 combat lvls (in all my martial art manuvers) i could instead have a 0/+6 using my strike right?

Also Blocking, I think blocking should be harder based upon how well your openite hits you. Say he needs an 11 to hit you, rolls a 9, your block diffaculty is harder by 2. So if i where blocking with a 15, id need a 13. anyone try that?

Any other suggestions for this kind of game?

Just for a lil more info, im running a 150pt game, 75/75.

and im new to the heros game, not to RPing and rule mangling :P

Thanks!

It is not that tough to overcome

The Dodge DCV bonus is fairly self correcting.

First: Use the Dodge to your own advantage. If your players are saving their arses. Let your NPCs do the exact same technique. It sounds like the play style and tactics that your group uses is making dodge more effective than it is in most campaigns. Eventually someone will try a different tactic or focus on offsensive levels to keep up with the defensive abilities found in the campaign. Eventually this will even out over the course of the campaign.

To help things along... think of the following.