Question: how to build mechano-link power

BarretWallace

Greetings one, greetings all,

This grew out of the “What’s Wrong with Palladium” thread I browsed earlier this week. It got me thinking of a character I built for Heroes Unlimited in days of yore, and I am trying to build such a character for Hero System.

I did search the boards and can’t find a good description of this power in Hero terms, so here it is. Also, I’ve never built a new power in Hero System before, so please be patient with my awkward leap into the realm of power building.

The Power: Mechano-Link

What does it do?

-It links the hero with any mechanical or electronic device (weapons, vehicles, computers, etc.). The hero has an instinctive “feel” for the device and can operate or repair it better than a similarly trained normal human.

-It grants a bonus to mechanical/electrical skills the character already possesses, including relevant operation and repair skills.

-It allows the character to interface directly with computers, bypassing security lockouts etc.

-It grants a chance for the character to understand and operate completely alien devices. Alien devices are not necessarily of extraterrestrial origin; this could just mean something the character has never encountered before.

How is it limited?

-Use of the power requires physical contact with the device in question. Contact is not considered “blocked” by clothing (costume, space suit, gloves, etc.) that the character is wearing, since these are also touching the character.

-Failed attempts to understand and use alien devices may not be re-attempted until the character has studied the device intently for at least a day.

I added in the limitations myself, but beyond that the description matches the HU power as nearly as I can recall. Any and all advice and constructive criticism is muchly appreciated. If there really is a good description of this power in the boards, please point me to the thread and I’ll happily dissolve this one.