Problem and Question about artillery attacks.

TheRealXenocide

I posted this on the Rules Question board before I read the part about how only Mr. Long could answer those.

Oops.

Therefore, I'm going to post here, in the hopes of getting thoughts from more people.

I’m relatively new to non-Fusion Champions. I was reading the 5th Edition book, I ran into something that sparked a question. I was hoping that some of you veterans who own everything Hero could answer it.

After reading the 5th edition book’s definition of Indirect, it’s clear that it does not work for creating tube artillery and similar attacks.

An artillery shell arcs over top of a wall, missing it entirely. Therefore, it doesn’t matter if the wall is hardened or not, because wall and shell never come into contact. However, if something like a roof gets in the way, the shell will hit it, be it hardened or not.

However, as Indirect is defined in the 5th Edition book, hardened matters, and wall vs. roof does not. Therefore, Indirect cannot be used to create a tube artillery type attack.

My question is, is there an adder in print somewhere that DOES simulate a tube artillery attack?

The problem is in the fact that whether or not Indirect ignores things like walls base on hardness, not location.

The way it's written in the big book could be interrupted to allow a wall with hardness stop such an Indirect attack, even if the shot goes OVER THE BLOOD THING! Yet, a unhardened roof can't stop it, even though the roof is IN THE BLOODY WAY!

I think you now see the problem.

I suppose you could fudge it, but having something in writing would make such an attack easier to use in different with different GMs.

I think you're misreading it. The "indirect" advantage is from the caster, not from the point of origin to the target. The EB (or whatever attack) coming in still has to travel from its point of origin (whether 3 inches from the target or much further way) in a physical path.