Newbie Question

cerebrolator

I have a player who wants to be able to interface his mind with computers so that he can collect data and perhaps tap into security systems. He is working off of an electrical powers elemental control framework. I'm very new at this and would like suggestions on how to make that ability. I'm thinking it might be some type of clairsentience but I have no idea what types of limitations and advantages to put on it. I would appreciate any suggestions you can offer.

Re: Newbie Question

You're definately on the right track with this train of thought. :thumbup:

If you consider computers to be intellegences with "Machine Class Minds", it gets simpler. For instance,

"Telepathy (Machine class minds) 12d6,"

would allow you to communicate directly with a computer, and also gives you a chance of being able to delve intrusively into its memory. Other mental powers work pretty much the same. Check out page 79 of Hero 5th ed. for a discription of "Classes Of Minds".

Clairsentience is also the way to go if you want to be able to see through security cameras or something. I'm not sure exactly how this should be built, but this might work:

"Clairsentience (Sight Group)(20 Active Points); Only through the Senses Of Others (Very limited, Security Cameras only; -3/4). Total cost: 11 pts."

If you have the book, Conquerors, Killers, And Crooks has a villain on page 141, called "Cybermind," whose all about controlling computers and machines.

If you have the book' date=' [u']Conquerors, Killers, And Crooks[/u] has a villain on page 141, called "Cybermind," whose all about controlling computers and machines.

Also, the Champions supplement UNTIL Superpowers Database is a huge compilation of prebuilt Powers for many categories, including "Cyberkinesis" or control of machines. Lots of ideas there for a character like you describe. You can read more about USPD here.