I don't quite grok the Multiform rules.

M.C. ArZeCh

Apologies to other posters if this is answered clearly somewhere, but I didn't find it in the FAQs. I'm new to the system and trying to build a test character with an alternate form, and from what I can tell Multiform is what I want to use for this. However, the rules (5th ed., revised) seem to say different things.

Let's say I'm building a character with 300 base points, and follow the suggestion of allocating 190 points to their powers (superheroic, power-oriented). If I decide to dump all 190 points into the alternate form, what it seems like the Multiform rules say at first is that I can build an alternate form from 950 points (before picking any disadvantages), meaning my High-Powered Superheroic character has a very Cosmically Powerful change form. This seems like it could unbalance things, which I've gathered is a priority of the system.

However, in the part of the rules headed "Base Points and Disadvantages", it appears to be saying that the change form would have 300 points like the true form, and to get it higher I'd have to buy it with disadvantages. Does this mean that if I were going to spend 190 points to make a 950 form, it would by default still have 300 base points and 650 in disadvantages? (By default, that is, unless the GM authorized free point trading as mentioned towards the end of that section.)

Is it apparent what I'm confused about? I don't see precisely what the Multiform points are actually buying, whether the character points are (True Form Base Points + Points from Disadvantages)/5, or (New Form's Base Points / 5). I'm guessing at the former, but I just want to get it straight since the presentation in the book is a little awkward to me.

As usual, more long-winded than I'd intended....

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Re: I don't quite grok the Multiform rules.