question about VPP's

NerdOfSteel

Hi-

I'm brand new to Hero. Picked it up because I liked the way the book looked and I liked the notion of one set of rules for building everything. I'm getting ready to try my first session with it, a conversion of my current campaign from D20 Modern to Hero. But I'm butting up against a question about how to handle one of my PC's.

The setting's something like a cross between Unknown Armies and Angel. I've got a player who's a pretty typical magic user. It seems that Variable Power Pools are the best way to handle spellcasting but I'm at a loss to see what the disadvantages are. What keeps my player from having a virtually unlimited number spells (powers) to pull from? And why wouldn't all my players use VPP's, load them up with tons of nifty powers, and then just pick and choose between phases? Is there a disadvantage to having VPP's instead of individual powers?

Thanks for your help.

The disadvantages to a VPP are that they cost more than the normal power (For one that can be changed as a 0 phase with out a skill roll is 2.5 times as expensive as the powers you will be able to use in it)

Also as a starting GM i would not allow VPP's but that is your call

No question, a Variable Power Pool can unbalance a game worse than almost any other power construct. It needs to be watched carefully so that the character doesn't always pull out a power that ruins your current scenario.

The biggest disadvantage to a VPP versus other constructs is cost. In its basic form the framework takes time out of combat to change between Powers; you have to buy a Skill or apply Advantages to change powers in combat, and to make changing powers a zero-Phase action, whereas any other Power Framework allows for that automatically. Its great versatility makes up for that, though.