Newbie Q: Lassos and Nets

shirosan

Hi everybody,

I'm just getting into the HERO System and am planning on running a mini-campaign featuring the PCs as gladiators in Ancient Rome. I've got a handle on combat, maneuvers, etc. What I'm interested in is anyone's take(s) on lariats and nets as combat weapons. Being a HERO noob, I'm still acquainting myself with the powers system and I'd like to see other peoples' examples of building weapons with powers.

I'm thinking Entangle as a base, then what? Would Grab (like with the whip) be better for lariat? Any online or print sources would be welcome as well.

Thanks in advance!

-David

Nets are typically done as Entangles. Some people add Entangle And Character Both Take Damage (+1/4). OAF (-1) and Range Based On STR (-1/4) are appropriate Limitations.

Lassos are a little trickier. My preference is to define them as Telekinesis, OAF (-1), Limited Range (no more than 6" or so; -1/4), Only To Grab (-1) (you might also add Limitations restricting the size of what can be Grabbed). Another possibility is a Limited form of Stretching, possibly with extra STR only to Grab, but that raises the uncomfortable question of why the lasso's STR for purposes of Grabbing people varies based on the STR of the person wielding it.

These are, however, just my own ideas. I'm sure other posters will have suggestions of their own. ;)

O_O

The Creator

O_O

the original...

i'm so excited! :) :) :) :)

Originally posted by Steve Long

Lassos are a little trickier. My preference is to define them as Telekinesis, OAF (-1), Limited Range (no more than 6" or so; -1/4), Only To Grab (-1) (you might also add Limitations restricting the size of what can be Grabbed). Another possibility is a Limited form of Stretching, possibly with extra STR only to Grab, but that raises the uncomfortable question of why the lasso's STR for purposes of Grabbing people varies based on the STR of the person wielding it.