Help with running combat, please!

Hi all.  I recently found the MHI Books and loved them.  Then I found the game and was excited. 

I have never used or played the Hero System before, but I am not new to RPG - I started with 2nd edition D&D and played all the diffrent editions since then.  I have played (or ran) adventures in Fate, GURPS (a long time ago), the old FASA Star Trek, and several others I cannot remember right now.  That being said I started with character Generation and figured that out easily enough and there is a lot about the system I am liking, BUT I cannot figure out how to run combat in the system.

Can some one explain it to me or point me in the direction of a post I could look at to understand it better?  I used my family as test guinea pigs last night and my boys got rally frusterated as did I.  I just could not wrap my head around it. 

Please help!

First, what book(s) do you have and do they include an example of combat?

I know the books don't say this but one concept that might help is to think of a TURN in HERO as the typical combat ROUND in most other games.  You can still take your 0 Phase, Full Phase or 2 Half Phase actions but try to make them flow from the intent your character begins the TURN with instead of just optimizing your choices for each PHASE's actions. 

More later....

Welcome to Hero! I promise, Hero combat plays much simpler than it sounds once you get the basics down. Here's how I explain it when I'm teaching new players:

Actions:

A Turn is 12 seconds long. Your Speed determines which seconds you can act on, which are called your Phases. Within a Phase, we go in DEX order from highest to lowest. Note it's easiest if the GM charts all this out in advance (I use a simple Excel spreadsheet) so you know who goes when. On your action you can do a full move, or a 1/2 move and attack (or something else).