Building robot henchmen

Tryskhell

Hey guys, I'm quite new to the HERO system, but I want to GM for it with my pals

One of the villain factions in my (totaly homebrew) setting is the Kureiji Warai, a very Yakuza-esque league of villains that aren't afraid to kill led by a super named Laughing Dragon. In the Kureiji, there is a super gadgeteer who builds weapons and robot henchmen -nicknamed Bunrakus- for the gang, Red Pupeteer, so I'd like to create a bunch of different bunbrakus for my players to "kill", but I have a whole lot of questions.

My players will start with 400 points (75 complication points) characters, normal SPD between 3 and 5, up to 8 or 9 for speedsters.

I want multiple levels of bunrakus, from simple grunts that fall in one hit to commanders that are just bellow them in terms of firepower. I would also like different types, from quick and agile ninjas to tanky samuraïs and deadly snipers.

I don't know how many points I should give them, tho. I would imagine something like 150 for the grunts and maybe 350 for the more powerful, but I tried making a grunt ninja and I ended up being extremely short on martial manoeuvers and equipment.

So, how many points should I attribute them ? Should I give them complications like any characters ? Should I account equipments in character points ?

I tried to find references, but I couldn't find a lot. I'm short on money, so pricey PDFs are a no-no (unfortunately). So if some of you could share your work on the subject for me to get references, I would be soooo happy

PS : I'm French, so my english might be broken as frick, sorry for that :x

Welcome Tryskhell! Ok since these robots are for villains, you don’t have to hold to a point budget. The points you posted are a good guideline, but say your basic robot is 163 cp no problem. I would focus more on building them to how you expect them to give damage and take damage rather than total points.