Chargen Help Booklet Suggestion

Tassyr

So I'm new to HERO, as is everyone else in my little group. I'm desperately trying to get my friends into the system so we can run a particular game under it, but we keep running into a certain metaphorical brick wall; 

Chargen seems AMAZINGLY complex at first glance. There's more stats and variables here than in any system I've seen before, and the powers section completely leaves us in the dust. 

What I was thinking is someone who understands this sort of thing more than I (Admittedly, that's most everyone) could possibly work up a document about character generation, written assuming that whoever will be reading it might never have played before. Things explained in detail but without wandering all over the place- and organized into tables and charts, rather than just blocks of text. That sort of thing.

I know it'd probably be a pain in the butt to make, but it'd really help us newbies.

When you say 'never played before' do you mean never played ANY role playing game of any kind before?

I hate to say it but at it's roots HERO was as much an alternative to D&D of the late 70's as it was a supers game (long before it became evolved into the generic system it is today).  It has never really been written or marketed to total newbie gamers.  It has always worked best as 'ok, I've tried this and that and parts were fun but others were not.  there's got to be something better (for me)'.

With that said you should take a look at this great thread by Tasha:

My character building technique (How to build Hero System Characters)

When you say 'never played before' do you mean never played ANY role playing game of any kind before?