Swaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarm!!!

Nero's Boot

How would I do a supervillain who was, in essence, a hive-minded swarm of insects? I'm starting to tinker with the idea of a Champions campaign, but I'm still learning the rules, and am a bit unclear as to how to simulate a character like this.

Would it be best to take Desolidification, Cannot Pass Through Solid Objects, Does Not Protect Against Damage, with a RKA LInked to it? Or would the HERO pros here suggest something else?

--thank you for your time NB

Re: Swaaaarm!!!

Well... there are simple ways, and there are complicated ways. Me, I like the complicated ways! So I'll try to avoid those.

Why would the RKA need to be Linked? If the modified Desolid is the thing's natural state, then the Linked is unnecessary, but, depending on the GM, you may have to buy it with Usable While Desolid (+2). In addition, I don't see why the Desolid can't protect against damage. If you fire a gun at a swarm of bees, it's the "desolid" nature of the swarm that makes the bullet ineffective. I mean, you may hit one bee, but that's not going to matter much. What does take down a swarm? Inhaled gasses, contact poisons, and fire, I'd think, so make them vulnerable to those kinds of attacks as part of the Desolid (no Limitation for them, either-- the Desolid, IIRC, requires some form of vulnerability).

Maybe a better way to show this damage prevention would be with massive amounts of DCV. It could be argued that it could also be simulated with lots of PD/ED, but that doesn't take into account the fact that area attacks should probably be effective as well (e.g., a swarm caught in a large explosion will be harmed by that explosion).