Mystic Champions

Napalm

Ok, I'm new to the whole Hero System - and wanna use a Mystic Hero/Villian - what book/s do I need - The Mystic World, Arcane Adversaries, The Ultimate Mystic? I'm not sure which ones are needed - and I need to keep the cost down right now...I plan on get'n all the books I've mentioned - just need to watch the cost right now :)

PLease - any info you can give me would totally rock :)

Re: Mystic Champions

What do you need? The HERO System Rulebook. Seriously. I don't want to hurt sales or anything, but that's all you need to put together a character. That, and some imagination.

If you want to know more about magic in the Champions campaign setting, buy The Mystic World. If you want pre-generated magic-oriented villains, buy Arcane Adversaries. If you want to see more ideas and suggestions (beyond your own) for magic-oriented characters in general, buy The Ultimate Mystic. But these are all optional. If I were you, I'd see what I could come up with using 5ER and my brain, and pay money for someone else's ideas only when I ran out of my own.

BTW, I don't own any of these books, but I'm sure they're all good stuff because they're part of the HERO System.

As far as I know, Mystic World is devoted to magical happenings in the Chamions Universe so it may or may not be helpful to you. Archane Adversaries is might be usefull for inspiration as I believe it contains alot of writeups. I'd go for Ultimate Mystic first. It is devoted to the subject of mystical characters and magical systems for all genres and is a damn good read. It's the book to have if you're not sure what you want.

When it comes down to it, the only book you NEED is Hero 5th edition. But...

Arcane Adversaries is purely a collection of mystical villains. Useful if you haven't designed villains yet.