Experience points question

rogerfcw

Hello,

I'm new to HERO and struggling a bit with the rules. A quick question on some creatures in the Bestiary.

What do the "experience points" represent when listed in the Disadvantages section? It's obvious that the Disads are less than the Ads in cost, but I don't understand the purpose of the "experience points" listed.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Experience points question

Hello,

I'm new to HERO and struggling a bit with the rules. A quick question on some creatures in the Bestiary.

What do the "experience points" represent when listed in the Disadvantages section? It's obvious that the Disads are less than the Ads in cost, but I don't understand the purpose of the "experience points" listed.

Thanks in advance.

They make the math balance. If it's not base points, and it's not disadvantages, it must be experience points.

I also use them as a measure of how long the character has been around, so a brand-new Super with 150 extra points will have a higher base, but one who's been around a long time will have the same base poiints as standard, plus xp.

Woah! Didn't expect an answer so fast. Thanks.

But the answer brought on more... yes, it's obvious that the experience points helps balance the lower cost Disads against the Ads bought.

But that would, in essence, mean that the creature has more Ads than Disads, so would the experience points be what the creature "owes" for its creation?

Wouldn't the imbalance outside of the math mean that PCs will have a harder time taking on the particular creature?

Experience is really just another name for "bonus" in this regard. It really has nothing to do with experience. In a point-based game A must equal B. The bonus points allow that to happen.

How hard it is for the PCs to take on a creature is usually based on total points, not bonus points. A 200 point creature is a 200 point creature, whether it gained 150 points from disads or from bonus points.