Making a "Wall Jump" power

Mad Fnorder

Board newbie here, trying to construct a power I just haven't been able to build right. The idea is to make a "wall kick" power- the ability to basically make jumps in consecutive phases, A la the wall jumps seen in various fighting games and such. It's simulating the dexterity of the character to basically gain sufficient footing off an unstable or vertical surface long enough to take another jump or whatever.

I was trying to simulate it with a limited form of clinging, with Costs END and RSR: Acrobatics- but it didn't seem to get the part about the power only working from phase to phase, and that you have to keep moving. I was thinking some sort of kludge involving continuing charges, but that doesn't seem to be it either. Suggestions for limitations to get this to work?

Re: Making a "Wall Jump" power

First off, you could possibly define the sequence of jumps as one actual use of Leaping, in which case it would all have to be done in the same Phase, or in only as many Phases as it takes to complete a Non-Combat Leap. That's not really standard rules, though, where you make one Leap per use (at least per Half-Move) and there is no Turn Mode along the way. I recall someone suggesting that you could use Movement Skill Levels and allow one bounce per Level, which strikes me as a good idea.

If none of that is to your liking, I would suggest perhaps Linking the Clinging to Leaping. That way you could not use the Clinging in any Phase in which you did not make a Leap. Or maybe a, "Stall Speed," like they have on Flight and Gliding, would work well.

Lastly, you can always come up with a custom Limitation. Something like, "Must Leap Next Phase or Fall (-1/2)." I don't know about the actual value of that, but you can play with it. -1/4 to -3/4 feels about right to me.

Flight; must land / push off to change directions; cannot hover; only X" between land / push-offs.