Genetic Analysis Laboratory

Lysando

Hello all,

I'm building a Genetics Analysis Laboratory to be installed in a spaceship. It will be used to sequence DNA, analyze it and return statistics, and compare it to a database of known sequences.

This is what I'm thinking:

Genetics Analysis Laboratory: Detect Genetic Information A Class Of Things 13- (Sight Group), Discriminatory, Analyze, Microscopic (x100,000)

What do you think? This seems rather broad, and I'm somewhat new to the system.

Thank you!!

ntb

Re: Genetic Analysis Laboratory

Well, you have two ways to do this that I see:

One is to just build Microscopic vision to the level you need. That lets you see DNA strands, and anything else at that level of detail if you want to, too. Then you buy a skill, Analyze: DNA and/or Science: Genetics, or both.

Or you can buy Detect DNA, Analyze, Discriminatory...and I'd talk with whoever is running the game about whether you actually need to put Microscopic on it at all. Microscopic is good for detecting smaller amounts of "stuff" than you would ordinarily be able to - things too small to be normally seen, sounds to quiet to be normally heard, that sort of thing. I could see arguing that a Detect DNA sense would assume that the "normal" level that can be detected is only a few cells anyway, by "default" and so no need to buy Microscopic. Any more than you need Microscopic on Detect Radiation, because the particles that make up the radiation are subatomic.

But personally, I'd go with the first build; for one thing, it means that a scientist with other skills can use the microscope to identify pathogens or something.

Lucius Alexander

The palindromedary notes that the hard thing with Lucius is to get him to NOT offer an opinion.

Or build a lab as for a base, +2 or whatever for genetic related skills.