Woah, alot of users on this board

Rage

Re: Woah, alot of users on this board

Sometimes the excessive number of "guests" shown on the boards is patently ludicrous, and Dan Simon has posted they're most likely from search-engine spiders. I was rather hoping he'd fix that with the software update. As is it's a useless feature.

While I know exactly what "spiders" are in this context, I now have the image of a whole bunch of arachnids sitting at row after row of computers, surfing the web, their little eyes glinting in the light of the monitors...

Sometimes the excessive number of "guests" shown on the boards is patently ludicrous' date=' and Dan Simon has posted they're most likely from search-engine spiders. I was rather hoping he'd fix that with the software update. As is it's a useless feature.[/quote']

What, exactly, is there to fix?

What' date=' exactly, is there to fix?[/quote']

"Dammit Jim, I'm a theater teacher, not a programmer!" ;)

I have no idea what search-engine spiders are, nor what if anything one can do about them. If it's impossible for the guy who hosts the Hero Games website to clear them out, so be it. If it would be possible but a lot of trouble, it probably isn't worth it.

But if we're not getting a true snapshot of how many people actually frequent our community, what's gained by showing that number? Except maybe letting folks believe the site is more heavily trafficked than it is. :sneaky:

"Dammit Jim, I'm a theater teacher, not a programmer!" ;)

I have no idea what search-engine spiders are, nor what if anything one can do about them. If it's impossible for the guy who hosts the Hero Games website to clear them out, so be it. If it would be possible but a lot of trouble, it probably isn't worth it.

Search Engine Spiders look a lot like normal users, all they do is catalogue the site, report the link back and when you do a search (on Google for instance) the proper pages come up - how else do you think search engines get their data?