Dumb Hero

RedneckJedi

Hi all. I am relatively new to Champions even though I played years ago I never got "good" at the game. I have an idea of a character but don't know the best way to build him. He is going to be dumb but pure good (think the Tick) but he isn't superpowered.

He is just a retarded guy wearing a silly white costume he made from visiting the local Salvation Army :o

Not SUPER strong but maybe a bit more than normal human max strength. Very quick and agile (for his size). Dumb and weak ego. Great wrestling and general comic book style fighting style. Lots of luck on his side.

I know generally how to build him but I need to know how to make him able to take on superpowered bad guys without getting killed :eek:

I was planning on giving him max physical characteristics, maybe a bit higher and average to low mental stats. I guess I am making a retarded Captain America of sorts.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Dumb Hero

Well, I'd suggest starting by taking a look at the talent Combat Luck. While it is primarily modeling something a little different from what you are going for exactly, it is a good example of seeing ways to use powers that may at first seem non-intuitive (using Armor to represent not getting hit).

How much do you want to play up the lucky aspect. An Energy Blast with a modified Invisible Power Effect, Indirect, and Variable Special Effect, could be used to model accidents happening to people he is fighting (add in Trigger and it becomes even harder to tell he is causing this stuff to happen). On the other hand, that may be too obvious on the Meta level for your tastes, and feel you want for the character.

Still with max stats, a bit of Combat Luck, and say a weapon (base ball bat) that he can use with MA and you could probably create an effective lower end super. Have you spoken with your GM about what you should be looking at in terms of Defenses and Damage Classes?