Starting from scratch, newbie help request

UbiquitousRat

Hello one and all!

Although I am not a TOTAL newbie to Hero, it's been a long while since I ran a game and I have never taken the full plunge into designing a campaign using the rules. In short, this is a help request in my effort to build a newbie-friendly SF setting for Hero.

I am using Hero System 6E and have Star Hero 6E on hand.

My questions are the first step stuff:

1. Does anyone have any advice on where to start?
  2. How can I make Hero as friendly as possible for new players?
  3. Is there anyone who wouldn't mind "holding my hand" through the process and being an advisor?

Crikey, now that I think of it... I don't even know which questions to ask.

Where do you start?

:nonp:

Re: Starting from scratch, newbie help request

1. What sort of game do YOU want to RUN?

2. Are your players interested in participating in such a game? I've been on both sides of this question, getting dragged into games I didn't care for, which never ends well--and proposing campaigns I thought would be great fun...and learning that nobody else was interested. Once you've found that sweet spot where the game you want to run is a game they want to play, you can then...

3. Enlist your players in helping you flesh out the campaign background.

4. Don't feel shy about filing the serial numbers off of Star Trek, Star Wars, Babylon 5, Farscape, or any other movie/tv show/novel and playing in that world for a while. You can always start adding innovations to make it your own once you have a better feel for what's working, what's not, and what you wish you'd done in the first place.

First of all, thanks for the initial response. Those are good questions...

Right now, here's what I have:

1. It's a kind of Imperial SF game with a massive backdrop but initially focused on the events in one city, on one world. I want Psi, paramilitary action, conspiracy and a growing scope for the players.