Reputation Activity
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Barton in assigning PSLsYou're correct that you assign what type of penalty a PSL applies to is defined when you buy them -- e.g., Ranged Skill Levels or Targeting Skill Levels. In most cases there isn't any question of "assigning" PSLs the way you do with CSLs, since PSLs just apply to offset one specific penalty. I left that language in just to be clear that if any issue about assigning them does come up, in some rare situation I can't conceive of right now, the same rule applies as for CSLs: you can't allocate them more than once per Phase. Just me being cautious, that's all.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Toxxus in assigning PSLsYou're correct that you assign what type of penalty a PSL applies to is defined when you buy them -- e.g., Ranged Skill Levels or Targeting Skill Levels. In most cases there isn't any question of "assigning" PSLs the way you do with CSLs, since PSLs just apply to offset one specific penalty. I left that language in just to be clear that if any issue about assigning them does come up, in some rare situation I can't conceive of right now, the same rule applies as for CSLs: you can't allocate them more than once per Phase. Just me being cautious, that's all.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in increasing the maximum on AidThe Advantage you cite on CC 211 — it’s titled Increased Maximum Effect — isn’t something I can find in any of the official 6E rulebooks. Unless someone can point me to a source I’m overlooking (which is entirely possible ), I can’t consider that an official 6E Advantage. There is an Increased Maximum (+¼) Advantage (see 6E 165-66), but it applies specifically to Absorption only.
Therefore, the correct way to do what you describe is (1), buy more Aid dice with a Limitation. Of course, you can ask your GM to adopt Increased Maximum Effect for your campaign as well. I will also consider putting something like it in APG3, but caveat: even if I think that’s a good idea, what I come up with may not match IME from CC. Or it might. I’m mysterious thataway.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Duke Bushido in Change Environment, ability roll effectsHero has never published any such list, and frankly I'm a little reluctant too. No matter how many "this list isn't all-inclusive; you can do other things with CE" warnings I include, some people are going to see it as a restrictive list. But I'll think about it -- thanx!
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Christopher R Taylor in Change Environment, ability roll effectsHero has never published any such list, and frankly I'm a little reluctant too. No matter how many "this list isn't all-inclusive; you can do other things with CE" warnings I include, some people are going to see it as a restrictive list. But I'll think about it -- thanx!
-
Steve Long got a reaction from SteveZilla in Acceptable sensations for touch group imagesI’m not going to try to come up with some sort of “laundry list” of what Touch Group Images can do. It’s a futile task; no matter how much I try I’m going to forget something — or many somethings. I’ll leave it up to the GM to handle anything that raises a question.
In the specific case you describe — causing pain — in theory a Touch Group Images could make a character feel pain or other uncomfortable sensations. But since these would have absolutely no game effect, it’s a waste of points and actions. (See 6E1 237-38.) Just buy a Drain STUN (or the like) with the special effect of “it’s an illusion so intense it can cause actual pain.”
-
Steve Long got a reaction from SteveZilla in Mental Damage Shield and Telepathy, Mind LinkI want to rephrase your question to state it in a way that I think gets at the heart of the issue:
Q: According to 6E1 322, a Mental Damage Shield has to be built with the Limitation Mental Contact Only (-½). What does “mental contact” mean, and how is it established between two characters?
A: “Mental contact” means any form of contact or connection between two characters that takes place mentally rather than physically. This can include attacking a character with a Mental Power, being attacked by a Mental Power, establishing a Telepathy, Mind Link, or Telepathic Mind Control “link” between two characters, and so on. If there’s any doubt as to whether mental contact occurs between two characters, the GM has the final say on the issue.
However, in the case of Mental Damage Shields specifically, there’s another Limitation to keep in mind: No Range (-½). Since a Mental DS has No Range, any form of “mental contact” that involves the character with the Mental DS using a Ranged power will not activate the Mental DS. This includes the character with the Mental DS using a Mental Power to attack another character, to establish a telepathic link, and so on. (If he were to use one of those powers at No Range, perhaps while touching the target, then the GM might rule that the Mental DS activates.) But if another character makes a Mental attack on the character with the Mental DS, that’s sufficient “mental contact” to activate the Mental DS, even if the Mental attack were made at Range.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from SteveZilla in HA/HKA No STR Bonus and martial artsFirst off, even if the rules allow you to do something — add damage, in this case — you don’t necessarily have to do it. It’s all up to the circumstances and the GM. If you don’t feel as if the character should get Extra DCs due to special effects, common sense, and dramatic sense, then don’t take them — after all, 6E2 92 specifically states that a character doesn’t have to use all of his Extra DCs if he doesn’t want to. That’s working within your character conception, and I think most GMs would approve.
I want to restate the central part of your question, to make sure that I understand what you’re asking, and so that other readers also follow along. If I’ve misunderstood you, please post a follow-up.
Q: If a character has an HKA with the No STR Bonus (-½) Limitation, can he still use a Martial Maneuver to add damage to that attack?
A: Yes, but he may not add his STR to the Martial Maneuver when determining how much damage it adds to the HKA; he can only add in the damage from the Maneuver itself. For example, suppose that Bruiser McGee (STR 20, Martial Strike +2d6, HKA 2d6 No STR Bonus) wants to use his Martial Strike with his HKA. (I’m assuming here that he’s paid for a Weapon Element that lets him do this, or has the GM’s permission.) Ordinarily, his Martial Strike would add 6 DCs: 4 from his 20 STR, and 2 for the Maneuver itself. But since the HKA has the No STR Bonus (-½) Limitation, his STR doesn’t apply, and he only gets the +2 DCs from the Maneuver itself (increasing his KA to HKA 2½d6).
-
Steve Long got a reaction from SteveZilla in DEF Builds HellThanks! Glad you're enjoying the 6E rules.
First off, it looks to me like you're going around your elbow to get to your hand (as they say). Why aren't you using the Power Resistant Protection? It avoids all the folderol of having to buy PD, then buy ED and do it all over again. You end up with something like this:
Shield Spell: Resistant Protection (6 PD/6 ED) (18 Active Point); Costs Endurance (-1/2), Gestures (-1/4), Incantations (-1/4), whatever other Limitations you want, etc., etc. Total Cost: 6 points.
If you want different Limitations on the PD and the ED, then sure, you have to use a compound power. That's just the nature of differing Limitations on the parts of what would otherwise be one power.
Beyond that, I'm not sure what to say. I think the HERO System already has the elements to do what you want to do. If I'm missing something, please PM me or post a follow-up.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from SteveZilla in Blocking Ranged Attacks?Since a Block is a defensive action, a character can Abort to it -- meaning use his Phase earlier than normal. In your example, he doesn't have to declare the Block in Segment 3 -- after all, at that point in time he doesn't even know that someone is going to shoot a Ranged attack at him. In Segment 5, when the attack occurs, he can Abort to Block it. That means he uses his Phase in Segment 6 early. So when Segment 6 comes around, he doesn't get to take his usual action, because he already Aborted to Block. (Since characters can Block multiple attacks at an increasing penalty, he could go on Blocking more attacks, until he misses one of the Blocks.) He can't act again until Segment 9, when SPD 4 next has a Phase.
In short: if your GM requires you to declare your Block in Segment 3 (in this example), he's not playing according to the rules as written. That's his privilege, of course; he can certainly change the rules for his campaign if he wants to.
I hope that clears everything up. You can also look at the Abort rules on 6E2 21-22 for additional explanation and examples.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in Blocking Ranged Attacks?Since a Block is a defensive action, a character can Abort to it -- meaning use his Phase earlier than normal. In your example, he doesn't have to declare the Block in Segment 3 -- after all, at that point in time he doesn't even know that someone is going to shoot a Ranged attack at him. In Segment 5, when the attack occurs, he can Abort to Block it. That means he uses his Phase in Segment 6 early. So when Segment 6 comes around, he doesn't get to take his usual action, because he already Aborted to Block. (Since characters can Block multiple attacks at an increasing penalty, he could go on Blocking more attacks, until he misses one of the Blocks.) He can't act again until Segment 9, when SPD 4 next has a Phase.
In short: if your GM requires you to declare your Block in Segment 3 (in this example), he's not playing according to the rules as written. That's his privilege, of course; he can certainly change the rules for his campaign if he wants to.
I hope that clears everything up. You can also look at the Abort rules on 6E2 21-22 for additional explanation and examples.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from sentry0 in Negative Knockback dice totalsIt’s not possible to have “negative” Knockback dice. If that happens, you just don’t roll any dice for Knockback — the KB equals the BODY of the attack x 2m.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in Steve At GenghisCon 42, Feb. 21-24, Running HERO Adventures!Just a quick reminder that GenghisCon, where I'm a guest, is coming up in just a few weeks -- and early registration for games is already open! You can find out more here: GenghisCon 42
-
Steve Long got a reaction from TranquiloUno in Multiple DefensesIf I understand you, this all boils down to a simple question: how do I build a power that either of two (or more) forms of defense can protect the target against?
The answer to that is: I swear I have addressed this issue before, but I'll be damned if I can find it right now. So I reserve the right to change this answer if and when I do find it (or someone reading this remembers where it is and tells me ). You can represent this by taking a Limitation, Multiple Defenses Apply, for the offensive power being used. Typically this is worth -1/4, but the GM can alter that value based on how common the second defense is in the campaign.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in Multiple DefensesIf I understand you, this all boils down to a simple question: how do I build a power that either of two (or more) forms of defense can protect the target against?
The answer to that is: I swear I have addressed this issue before, but I'll be damned if I can find it right now. So I reserve the right to change this answer if and when I do find it (or someone reading this remembers where it is and tells me ). You can represent this by taking a Limitation, Multiple Defenses Apply, for the offensive power being used. Typically this is worth -1/4, but the GM can alter that value based on how common the second defense is in the campaign.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in Rapid attack skillFirst off, welcome to HERO! We hope you'll enjoy it. We have one of the friendliest communities in gaming here on the boards, so feel free to ask any questions that come up and you'll get plenty of helpful gamers chiming in with advice and suggestions.
Your question raises a couple of issues, so I’m going to restate them individually to be sure that I don’t miss anything, and that readers at home can follow me.
1. If a character has Fast Draw, can he draw more than one weapon as part of the same Zero Phase Action?
2. If a character has multiple attacks ready, can he make one with each Half Phase Action in his Phase?
1. If a character has Fast Draw, he may attempt to ready more than one weapon as a Zero Phase Action (up to a maximum of one weapon per manipulable limb). However, he suffers a penalty of -1 per additional weapon after the first, and if the roll fails, none of the weapons are drawn quickly — he either has to draw them all as a Half Phase Action, or wait until his next Phase to try to use Fast Draw again.
2. No. Once a character makes an attack, that ends his Phase (see 6E2 18).
In the situation you describe (a character with a gun in each hand), he could use the Multiple Attack Maneuver (6E2 73) and declare that he’s making four attacks. The special effect of the attack is “I fire each gun twice at my target, because I’m just that good!”. Since your character has the Rapid Attack Skill, he can make the Multiple Attack in a Half Phase (rather than the usual Full Phase), but that doesn’t let him ignore the rule that making an attack ends his Phase. If he wants to perform a Half Phase Action before attacking — such as making a Half Move — he can do so, but he can’t make two Attack Actions.
I hope that clarifies things for you. If not, please send me a private message, or post a follow-up question here. Thanks!
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in How do Megascale senses work?First, I should note that Senses, as Special Powers, typically shouldn’t have Advantages applied to them. The GM can allow this anyway, of course; there are a number of examples in published HERO System books (such as MegaScaling the sensors on a starship). But it’s not something that should occur routinely.
Second, in some cases there are specific rules for using MegaSenses. For example, see APG 138 for the rules about buying MegaSenses to see obstacles in time to avoid colliding with them when using a MegaMovement power.
Third, the rules on 6E1 340, bottom left, specify that using any MegaScaled power requires a Full Phase Action and reduces the character to ½ DCV (except, of course, where more specific rules override this, as with avoiding obstacles when MegaMoving). So that applies to any standard use of MegaSenses, unless the GM rules otherwise.
I think that about covers it. If there’s some specific aspect of MegaSenses that I’ve overlooked, please PM me or post a follow-up question. Thanks!
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Mister E in How do Megascale senses work?First, I should note that Senses, as Special Powers, typically shouldn’t have Advantages applied to them. The GM can allow this anyway, of course; there are a number of examples in published HERO System books (such as MegaScaling the sensors on a starship). But it’s not something that should occur routinely.
Second, in some cases there are specific rules for using MegaSenses. For example, see APG 138 for the rules about buying MegaSenses to see obstacles in time to avoid colliding with them when using a MegaMovement power.
Third, the rules on 6E1 340, bottom left, specify that using any MegaScaled power requires a Full Phase Action and reduces the character to ½ DCV (except, of course, where more specific rules override this, as with avoiding obstacles when MegaMoving). So that applies to any standard use of MegaSenses, unless the GM rules otherwise.
I think that about covers it. If there’s some specific aspect of MegaSenses that I’ve overlooked, please PM me or post a follow-up question. Thanks!
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Mister E in Improving IntimidationYou figured out the answer to your own question perfectly, though the Limitation should have a different value if you want to follow examples in published books. You buy extra PRE with the Limitation Only For Fear-/Intimidation-Based Presence Attacks (-1).
-
Steve Long got a reaction from LordQulex in Improving IntimidationYou figured out the answer to your own question perfectly, though the Limitation should have a different value if you want to follow examples in published books. You buy extra PRE with the Limitation Only For Fear-/Intimidation-Based Presence Attacks (-1).
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Steve in Reduced Negation questionThis came up a few years ago, and I answered as follows:
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Mister E in Steve At GenghisCon 42, Feb. 21-24, Running HERO Adventures!Just a quick reminder that GenghisCon, where I'm a guest, is coming up in just a few weeks -- and early registration for games is already open! You can find out more here: GenghisCon 42
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Khas in Steve At GenghisCon 42, Feb. 21-24, Running HERO Adventures!Just a quick reminder that GenghisCon, where I'm a guest, is coming up in just a few weeks -- and early registration for games is already open! You can find out more here: GenghisCon 42
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Lord Liaden in Mental Combat Skill LevelsHappy New Year to you and yours as well, LL!
The default answer is, “No, it wouldn’t” — but this is really something that should be left up to the GM to decide. How Mental Powers work in his campaign, the special effect of the slot in question, and other factors may affect the answer, so the GM’s the only one who can respond definitively. He should start with my “No” as a default (in the interest of keeping the rule about Mental Powers and CSLs consistent), but shouldn’t feel any qualms about changing the answer if he feels that suits his campaign (or this particular character) better.
-
Steve Long got a reaction from Vanguard in Pushing in Heroic CampaignsHe can Push for 8 points of STR in this situation. He can Push for up to 5 Character Points' worth of an ability (STR, in this case) just for succeeding with the EGO Roll. If he succeeds by a greater margin, he can exceed that amount as indicated in the rulebook.