Having players help w/ the logistics (esp. SPD chart)

kjamma4

Over the course of a few threads, there has been talk about how some people eliminate the SPD chart, preferring to have a set number of actions per turn and just go in DEX order. An underlying thought was that it was a pain to keep track of actions/phases.

I am relatively new to HERO but think that the SPD chart is great*. To relive the GM of some of the logistical duties (so he can concentrate on story telling) we have one of the players handle the SPD chart**. We have a chart with at least the characters' info and their phases pre-set. You can use a glass bead and move it to indicate the phase and dex order. Works well.

*We migrated over to Fantasy HERO from D&D 3.5. Although I liked the multiple attacks per round in 3.5, I disliked that all of them came at once during your initiative. With HERO, you get more of the "give-and-take" of combat rather than the "I go, you go" feel.

** We also did this when we played 3.5 - having a player keep track of initiative and the duration of spells.

Re: Having players help w/ the logistics (esp. SPD chart)

Seems like a good solution. I run the old GMaid software program on a laptop, and it tracks through the phases easily, so it's never been a particular problem in our games. The Speed Chart is really the only good way I have ever seen to handle supers combat. I wouldn't want to run a supers game without it.

But I'm all for assigning certain tasks to other players to help with all the intricacies of running combat. In your games, does the player running the Speed Chart also keep track of which characters have held phases? I guess that would be hard to do in some cases where the GM wanted to keep players guessing about what their opponents are up to.

That isn't bad.

We use little business cards and a d12. The d12 shows what phase is on and the cards are filled out like so.

Name.....................Dex

P H A S E S.